Skip to content

Busy

28 Jul 2012

For an anti-social hermit, I was really busy this last week…and the week before. And next week doesn’t look any better.

But the words will get written and the chapters will get edited.

Got some recommendations for editors and copy editors, so I’ll be testing them out. At this point, I’m going to self-publish To Die For because it’s too kinky (that wasn’t the plan, but it happened so I’m going to roll with it) for a mainstream romantic suspense line. It’s a little nerve-racking because it’ll be the first non-reprint self-publishing endeavor. And I bought a cover I think may work, but I won’t know for certain until I finish the book. Let me know what you think.

(Actually, I’m already thinking the cover may work better for the sequel.)

2 Comments leave one →
  1. 28 Jul 2012 7:57 PM

    I like it. It’s really simple and easy to read. How much does it cost to hire a copy editor? I’m afraid I can’t really afford one…

    • 28 Jul 2012 8:26 PM

      I think for an average novel (80k), it can range between $600 (light copy editing and proofreading) to $2,000 (content editing and heavy copy editing) depending on your editing needs.

      I know writers who can’t afford editors use beta readers and/or critique groups. I’m not a fan of those for too many reasons to list here, but I guess they work for a lot of people. Personally, I want a professional who has industry experience, knows the difference between it’s and its, knows dumpster is no longer trademarked, and isn’t afraid to let me know when something is crap.

      I’m pretty darn good at editing, but when you’ve been reading the same words over and over again for several months (or years, in my case), you’re going to miss something so I think a professional editor is essential if you want a professional end product. That’s why when I hire cover artists, I hire people who do freelance for the major publishers.

      Of course, I create the EPUB, MOBI, and PDF files for upload myself, but I’m something of a professional when it comes to technical stuff. Programming since the age of 10 has its advantages.

Leave a Reply

