Skip to content

I Don’t Know If It Tastes As Good As It Looks

13 Oct 2012

Two months ago…

Me: Who’s doing your wedding cake?

My sister: Why do you want to know?

Me: I have a friend who’s getting married and you said your cake lady is pretty reasonable.

Sis: Oh, okay. I have her number at home. I’ll text it to you later.

Me: ‘Kay. Thanks.

 

Last night…

Sis: Oh, my God! Thank you!

Sis’s new husband: That’s the wedding cake she really wanted.

Me: I know.

(My sister’s favorite movie is The Nightmare Before Christmas and she really wanted a themed wedding, but those are hideously expensive. So I got her a second wedding cake.)

Sis: How did you do it?

Me: Remember when I asked you for the name of your cake lady two months ago?

Sis: Oh!

Me: Yeah. You’re so easy to fool.

It’s a chocolate mint cake, but I don’t know for certain because, to her new husband’s disappointment, my sister didn’t let anyone eat it. She’s freezing it for her one-year anniversary.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. 13 Oct 2012 3:32 PM

    Weddings are hideously expensive. My husband and I only invited immediate family and still managed to spend almost $5,000 dollars. We had it at my sister’s house.

    • 13 Oct 2012 11:46 PM

      It’s the wedding premium. As soon as you attach the word wedding to something, the price goes up by 50% to 300%. A normal updo might cost $50, but a wedding updo will cost $150.

      It’s a conspiracy, I tell you.

      • 14 Oct 2012 7:30 AM

        Oh well, at least the food looks good, and that cake is super kawaii. I had a little cake topper and cupcakes.

  2. 14 Oct 2012 5:51 AM

    You are an AWESOME sister–and not just for the cake.

    • 14 Oct 2012 11:30 AM

      Now it’s her job to give me lots of nieces and nephews to spoil.

      And my new very sexy, very red iPod Nano arrived the same day. Karma’s not always a bitch.

Leave a Reply

