Skip to content

New Level of Laziness

25 Jan 2013

So, my new boss lied to me when she said I would be crazy busy by now. I’m not. And I’m done annoying everyone I know by asking them if they need help. They all look at me suspiciously and wonder if I’m trying to steal their job. At this point, my new boss is wondering if I’m just not doing my job because my predecessor made it seem like she was always juggling twenty things at once and every request she received required monumental effort. The truth is, she was very busy and she did have to work long hours. But that’s because she’s not a computer geek and did everything the hard way. Me? I prefer to write a script to do the brainless tasks in any role. I don’t know about other people, but if I have the option between (1) manually keying in numbers and letters for eight hours every day or (2) writing a script to do it for me in minutes, I’m going to choose the latter. Sure, sometimes writing a script can take a lot longer than the manual process, but I think long-term. Spend eight hours automating something once so I can save eight hours every week or every month seems like a smart investment to me.

Also, I’m registered for two courses this semester; but it’s an MBA, not rocket science. And courses in strategy and finance? I can do those in my sleep.

While I am enjoying getting in three yoga classes every week, guilt is eating away at me because my productivity has sunk to a new low. Frankly, I don’t think watching every episode of every season of CSI: NY in a one-month time span is something of which to be proud. (Gary Sinise is no William Petersen, but he’s leaps and bounds better than David Caruso.)

Oy. (I’m Catholic, but some Jewish expressions transcend religion.)

While I have a 30-page paper to turn in next week, I think it’s time to reinstate The Writing Challenge. 300 words per day for the next 30 days should be sufficient to finish Once a Thief.

Right after I watch Arthur Christmas.

Edited to add: Starting word count is 32,450.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. 26 Jan 2013 11:27 AM

    Oh how I envy you–in the best possible way, mind you: wishing you ever more success in everything you do, but still, wishing I’d have had a hundredth of your foresight instead of just going along with the current.

    Enjoy the lull–pretty soon your boss will figure out just how much more s/he can squeeze outta you, and you’ll be happy crazy busy again.

    • 26 Jan 2013 7:13 PM

      It may not be foresight but ingrained laziness. If there’s a shortcut, I’ll find it–or make one. And I’m contrary by nature, even though life would be so much easier if I could go with the flow.

      • 26 Jan 2013 7:17 PM

        I’ll take your style of laziness over my style of procrastination any day 😛

Leave a Reply

